Awards 2005 - 2009


The 'Spiritual Death' of Jesus: A Pentecostal Investigation by William Atkinson. Nominated for the Foundation For Pentecostal Scholarship's annual award.

Framing Iberia: Maqāmāt and Frametale Narratives in Medieval Spain by David Wacks received the 2009 La corónica International Book Award for scholarship in Medieval Hispanic Languages, Literatures, and Cultures. The award was presented at the Saturday plenary at the ICMS 2009 in Kalamazoo, and David was recognized during the IMANA banquet Saturday night.
Persian Wisdom in Arabic Garb, Chance and Determinism in Avicenna and Averroes and Scripturalist Islam won the World Prizes for the Book of the Year in the field of Iranian studies by the Islamic Republic of Iran.

The Historical Foundations of World Order by Douglas M. Johnston, with a preface by W. Michael Reisman - won the 2009 ASIL Certificate of Merit for a Preeminent Contribution to Creative Scholarship

Elena Efimovna Kuz'mina won the Islamic Republic of Iran's World Prize for book of the year for her work : The Origin Of the Indo-Iranians.

Mediating the Divine: Prophecy and Revelation in the Dead Sea Scrolls and Second Temple Judaism: by Alex P. Jassen won the 2009 Templeton Award for Theological Promise.

In 2007, a number of Brill's publications were awarded the prestigious status of Choice Outstanding Academic Title.

Brill's Companion to Thucydides, edited by Antonios Rengakos and Antonis Tsakmakis

Japanese Fiction of the Allied Occupation - Vision, Embodiment, Identity by Sharalyn Orbaugh, University of British Columbia

From Capture to Sale: The Portuguese Slave Trade to Spanish South America in the Early Seventeenth Century, Linda A. Newson, King's College, London, and Susie Minchin, King's College, London

The Dead Sea Scrolls Electronic Library - Incorporating The Dead Sea Scrolls Reader, Network Version / Standalone Version, edited by Emanuel Tov

Several Brill authors also received an award for their work in 2007:

James Pollock, author of the Brill publication Nature, Man and God in Medieval Islam, received in November 2007 the MELA Award for outstanding lifetime achievement.

Cyrus Ala'i, 'Certificate of Award' issued by the Association of Friends of Persian Culture for General Maps of Persia.

Fruma Zachs, ‘The Tel-Aviv prize for Middle-East publications’ in the book category issued by The department of Middle Eastern and African Studies at the University of Tel-Aviv for The Making of a Syrian Identity.

Harald Motzki, ‘World Prize for the Book of the Year of the Islamic Republic of Iran’ issued by the Ministry of Culture and Islamic Guidance of the Iranian government for The Biography of Muhammad in Brill’s Islamic History and Civilization series and for his studies of the life of the Prophet.


Distinguished Book Award to George Satterfield
2006 Distinguished Book Award to George Satterfield (Hawaii Pacific University) for Princes, Posts, and Partisans: The Army of Louis XIV and Partisan Warfare in the Netherlands, 1673-1678.

Recipients of this prestigious award have in recent years included John Keegan, Brian Linn, Nicholas Lambert, Geoffrey Parker and Hew Strachan. This is however the first award in several years to be made for a work on pre-modern history.

Francis Lieber Prize 2006 / The Paul Reuter Prize 2006
Accountability of Peace Support Operations by Marten Zwanenburg was awarded the Francis Lieber Prize 2006.

This title was also awarded for outstanding work in the field of international humanitarian law by Dr Marten Zwanenburg. The jury selected the study because of the wealth of legal material considered by the author, including State and organizational practice, which makes it an especially valuable contribution to the field.

EI-editor Van Donzel receives Academy Medal
Dr. Emeri van Donzel received the Academy Medal of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (Koninklijke Nederlandse Academie van Wetenschappen). Dr. Van Donzel was the general editor of the Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd edition).

The Academy Medal is awarded to persons who have made a particular contribution in the Netherlands to the flourishing of the sciences in a broad sense. Previous awards went to clavecinist Ton Koopman and founder of the Bibliotheca Philosophica Hermetica, Joost Ritman.

2005 Judaica Reference and Bibliography Awards
The Research and Special Libraries Division (R&S) of the Association of Jewish Libraries (AJL) winner of the 2005 Judaica Reference and Bibliography Awards: Clavis Commentariorum of Hebrew Liturgical Poetry in Manuscript by Elisabeth Hollender.

Choice Outstanding Academic Titles 2006

Atlas of European Values by Loek Halman, Ruud Luijkx and Marga van Zundert

An Ottoman Mentality The World of Evliya Çelebi (revised second edition) by Robert Dankoff. With an Afterword by Gottfried Hagen

Concise Biographical Companion to Index Islamicus: An International Who's Who in Islamic Studies from its beginnings down to the Twentieth Century by Wolfgang Behn

Race and Ethnicity Across Time, Space and Discipline. Edited by Rodney D. Coates

Choice selected the following titles as Outstanding Academic Title:

Encyclopaedia of Islam Edited by P.J. Bearman, Th. Bianquis, C.E. Bosworth, E. van Donzel and W.P. Heinrichs
Muslims in the Enlarged Europe, Religion and Society Edited by Brigitte Maréchal, Stefano Allievi, Felice Dassetto and Jørgen Nielsen
Index Islamicus - A bibliography of publications on Islam and the Muslim World since 1906 Edited by C.H. Bleaney and G.J. Roper
Index to Periodical Literature for the Study of the New Testament
Riches from Atlantic Commerce Dutch Transatlantic Trade and Shipping, 1585-1817 Edited by Johannes Postma and Victor Enthoven
The Secret History of the Mongols A Mongolian Epic Chronicle of the Thirteenth Century Translated with a Historical and Philological Commentary by Igor de Rachewiltz
Greek and Roman Historiography in Late Antiquity Fourth to Sixth Century A.D. Edited by Gabriele Marasco
Jews in Islamic Countries in the Middle Ages by Moshe Gil

Brill congratulates these authors on their outstanding achievements.
Prizes for Martinus Nijhoff Authors
Karen Hulme won 2005 Francis Lieber Prize for War Torn Environment: Interpreting the Legal Threshold
Christopher P.M. Waters won the 2005 Hart Socio-Legal Prize for Early Career Academics for Counsel in the Caucasus: Professionalization and Law in Georgia
Prize for Brill Authors

The Sixteenth Century Hebrew Book: An Abridged Thesaurus by Marvin J. Heller has been selected to receive the 2004 Judaica Bibliography Award from the Research and Special Librabies Division of the Association of Jewish Libraries. (Marvin Heller also recieved this award for his previous book published by Brill).The award was presented at the banquet of AJL's 40the Annual AJL Convention, Oakland, California.